March 8, 2019
Parisien v 21st Century Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 50275(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/parisien-v-21st-century-ins-co-2019-ny-slip-op-50275u/
- Decided
- March 8, 2019
- Citation
- 2019 NY Slip Op 50275(U)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Split result
- Later treatment
- Followed in 1 later decision (see Cited by)
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Parisien v 21st Century Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 50275(U))
SUPREME COURT, APPELLATE TERM, SECOND DEPARTMENT, 2d, 11th and 13th JUDICIAL DISTRICTS
against
21st Century Insurance Company, Respondent.
The Rybak Firm, PLLC (Damin J. Toell of counsel), for appellant. Law Offices of Buratti, Rothenberg & Burns (Sharon A. Brennan of counsel), for respondent.
Appeal from an order of the Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County (Robin Kelly Sheares, J.), entered May 11, 2016. The order, insofar as appealed from, denied the branches of plaintiff’s motion seeking summary judgment on the second through fifth causes of action and granted the branches of defendant’s cross motion seeking summary judgment dismissing those causes of action.
ORDERED that the order, insofar as appealed from, is modified by providing that the branches of defendant’s cross motion seeking summary judgment dismissing the second and fifth causes of action are denied; as so modified, the order is affirmed, without costs.
In this action by a provider to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits, plaintiff moved for summary judgment and defendant cross-moved for summary judgment dismissing the complaint. Insofar as is relevant to this appeal, the Civil Court granted the branches of defendant’s cross motion seeking summary judgment dismissing: (1) the second cause of action on the ground that defendant had never received the underlying claim form; (2) the third cause of action on the ground that defendant had fully paid plaintiff in accordance with the workers’ compensation fee schedule; and (3) the fourth and fifth causes of action on the ground that plaintiff had failed to appear for examinations under oath (EUOs). The Civil Court also denied the branches of plaintiff’s motion seeking summary judgment on those causes of action.
Plaintiff correctly argues that it made a prima facie showing that the claim underlying the second cause of action had been mailed to defendant in accordance with plaintiff’s standard [*2]mailing practice and procedure (see St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co., 50 AD3d 1123 [2008]). However, defendant’s showing that it had not received the claim form at issue underlying the second cause of action demonstrated that there is a triable issue of fact as to whether this claim form was timely mailed to defendant (see Irina Acupuncture, P.C. v Auto One Ins. Co., 59 Misc 3d 147[A], 2018 NY Slip Op 50781[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2018]; Healing Health Prods., Inc. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 44 Misc 3d 59 [App Term, 2d, Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2014]). As a result, neither party is entitled to summary judgment upon the second cause of action.
Plaintiff’s contention that defendant is not entitled to summary judgment upon the third cause of action will not be considered, as it is being raised for the first time on appeal (see Joe v Upper Room Ministries, Inc., 88 AD3d 963 [2011]; Gulf Ins. Co. v Kanen, 13 AD3d 579 [2004]).
Plaintiff argues that defendant was not entitled to summary judgment upon the fourth and fifth causes of action because the follow-up EUO scheduling letters were sent more than 10 calendar days after plaintiff had failed to appear for separately scheduled EUOs with respect to the claims underlying the fourth and fifth causes of action. The record establishes that, with respect to the claim underlying the fourth cause of action, after plaintiff failed to appear for the first scheduled EUO, defendant timely mailed a second EUO scheduling letter (see 11 NYCRR 65-3.6 [b]).
However, with respect to the claim underlying the fifth cause of action, the record establishes that, after plaintiff failed to appear for the first scheduled EUO, defendant’s follow-up scheduling letter for that EUO was mailed more than 10 days later. As a result, this follow-up scheduling letter was untimely (see 11 NYCRR 65-3.6 [b]) and the branch of defendant’s cross motion seeking summary judgment dismissing the fifth cause of action due to plaintiff’s failure to appear for EUOs should have been denied. However, the branch of plaintiff’s motion seeking summary judgment upon this cause of action was properly denied, as the proof submitted in support of plaintiff’s motion failed to establish either that the claim had not been timely denied (see Viviane Etienne Med. Care, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co., 25 NY3d 498 [2015]), or that defendant had issued a timely denial that was conclusory, vague or without merit as a matter of law (see Westchester Med. Ctr. v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co., 78 AD3d 1168 [2010]; Ave T MPC Corp. v Auto One Ins. Co., 32 Misc 3d 128[A], 2011 NY Slip Op 51292[U] [App Term, 2d Dept, 2d, 11th & 13th Jud Dists 2011]).
Accordingly, the order, insofar as appealed from, is modified by providing that the branches of defendant’s cross motion seeking summary judgment dismissing the second and fifth causes of action are denied.
PESCE, P.J., ALIOTTA and SIEGAL, JJ., concur.
ENTER:
Paul Kenny
Chief Clerk
Decision Date: March 08, 2019
Legal questions (3)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
On summary judgment or another pretrial motion, what must a no-fault claimant show to establish its prima facie case?
This decision: Insufficient: claimant did not prove the claim was overdue (not paid or timely denied)
Held the provider's motion was properly denied on the EUO claim because its proof did not show the claim had not been timely denied or that a timely denial was conclusory, vague or meritless.
Of the 1,063 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 247 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did a party’s evidence establish that it mailed a no-fault claim, denial, verification request or examination notice?
This decision: The mailing proof (of either party) left only a triable issue of fact on whether or when the item was mailed or received
Held the provider made a prima facie showing that the claim was mailed under its standard mailing practice, but the insurer's showing of non-receipt raised a triable issue whether it was timely mailed.
Of the 1,384 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 99 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did the insurer prove its IME/EUO no-show defense: mailed, compliant scheduling requests and the claimant’s nonappearance?
This decision: Insurer did not show its requests met the regulatory timing, follow-up or justification requirements (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Held the follow-up EUO letter for one claim was mailed more than 10 days after the first nonappearance and so was untimely, defeating the defense, while the follow-up for the other claim was timely.
Of the 851 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 101 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- St. Vincent’s Hosp. of Richmond v Government Empls. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 04072) FollowedThe insurer raised factual issues concerning a proper timely denial and its entitlement to deny the hospital's claim.
- Irina Acupuncture, P.C. v Auto One Ins. Co. (2018 NY Slip Op 50781(U))The insurer's proof of delayed receipt raised a factual issue concerning timely mailing of the provider's claim forms.
- Healing Health Prods., Inc. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2014 NY Slip Op 24145)The provider's mail-record affidavit raised a triable issue as to whether the insurer mailed its verification requests.
- Viviane Etienne Med. Care, P.C. v Country-Wide Ins. Co. (2015 NY Slip Op 04787) FollowedA provider establishes entitlement to summary judgment on overdue no-fault claims with admissible proof of mailing and receipt of statutory claim forms.
- Westchester Med. Ctr. v Nationwide Mut. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 08933)The provider failed to establish entitlement to summary judgment because the insurer partially paid and denied the claim within 30 days.
- Ave T MPC Corp. v Auto One Ins. Co. (2011 NY Slip Op 51292(U))The provider failed to establish summary judgment entitlement because nonpayment alone did not show an absent or legally insufficient denial.
Cited by
A label shows how the later decision treated this one.
- Restoration Chiropractic, P.C. v 21st Century Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 51961(U)) FollowedThe insurer's follow-up EUO letter was untimely because it was mailed more than 10 days after the assignor's first nonappearance.
Similar decisions
- Parisien v Tri State Consumers Ins. Co. (2022 NY Slip Op 50920(U))The provider obtained summary judgment on a claim denied for missing therapy instructions because the insurer sought no verification.
- Parisien v Ameriprise Ins. (2020 NY Slip Op 50990(U))The insurer proved the provider's EUO nonappearances, including one at a location changed at the provider's request, and a timely denial.
- Parisien v Allstate Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 51154(U))The insurer failed to establish timely mailing of its denials, but the provider also failed to establish entitlement to summary judgment.
- Parisien v Travelers Ins. Co. (2019 NY Slip Op 51162(U))The insurer established that five causes of action were premature because timely requested verification remained outstanding.
- Parisien v Maya Assur. Co. (2018 NY Slip Op 50766(U))The insurer failed to prove mailing of IME scheduling letters, and the provider failed to establish entitlement to summary judgment.