April 8, 2010
Gegerson v State Farm Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 50604(U))
https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/gegerson-v-state-farm-ins-co-2010-ny-slip-op-50604u/
- Judge
- Ciaffa, J.
- Decided
- April 8, 2010
- Citation
- 2010 NY Slip Op 50604(U) · 27 Misc 3d 1207(A)
- Posture
- Summary judgment
- Outcome
- Split result
Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.
Summary
Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.
Reported in New York Official Reports at Gegerson v State Farm Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 50604(U))
| Gegerson v State Farm Ins. Co. |
| 2010 NY Slip Op 50604(U) [27 Misc 3d 1207(A)] |
| Decided on April 8, 2010 |
| District Court Of Nassau County, Second District |
| Ciaffa, J. |
| Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431. |
| This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports. |
District Court of Nassau County, Second District
Andrew Gegerson,
DPM, APPASAHEB NAIK, MD, A/A/O DANA FRAZIER, Plaintiff(s)
against State Farm Insurance Company, Defendant(s) |
35416/07
McDonnell & Adels, P.C., 401 Franklin Ave. Garden City, NY 11530, Attorney for Plaintiff
Mandel & Santora, Esqs. 29 Broadway Lynbrook, NY 11563, Attorney for Defendant
Michael A. Ciaffa, J.
Plaintiffs move for summary judgment upon claims for no-fault benefits, or alternatively, for an order of preclusion. Defendant cross-moves for dismissal of the claim of plaintiff Naik on grounds of an EUO default.
Addressing plaintiffs’ motion first, the Court finds that plaintiffs’ moving papers fail to establish their entitlement to judgment as a matter of law. Their motion includes mis-dated copies of bills which cannot possibly be deemed admissible “business records” (CPLR 4518) in support of the motion. Indeed, as defendant’s opposition papers document, the copies submitted are each dated October 13, 2009 – – more than two years after the action was commenced. Moreover, the actual bills received by defendant in 2007 differ in certain respects from the copies submitted with plaintiffs’ motion. While it appears that the “bills” submitted by plaintiffs’ counsel were generated through a computer operator’s error, it remains plaintiffs’ burden on a summary judgment motion to adduce proof, in proper evidentiary form, establishing plaintiffs’ claims as a matter of law. Under the instant circumstances, they have not done so.
Defendant’s cross-motion presents a more difficult issue. In other contexts, this Court has not hesitated to grant dismissal of no-fault claims where a provider has been guilty of a provable EUO default. See Dynamic Med. Imaging, P.C. v. State Farm Mut. Auto Ins. Co., 2009 NY Slip Op 29478 (Dist Ct. Nassau Co.). However, before such a default may be found, the insurer must establish its “specific objective justification supporting the use of such examination.” Progressive Northeastern Ins Co. v. Arguelles [*2]Med. P.C., 2009 NY Slip Op 32353 (Sup Ct. NY Co.); see also Westchester Med Center v. GEICO, 2009 NY Slip Op 30914 (Sup Ct. Nassau Co.). In this Court’s
opinion, defendant’s cross-motion includes adequate proof from an investigator that objectively justified an examination of Dr. Naik under oath (see aff. of Gina McLaughlin). That proof included allegations suggesting that Dr. Naik “billed for services he did not render” and had submitted various “questionable” billings (id.). Since any refusal to pay on such grounds would necessarily have to be asserted in the insurer’s denial, or be forever precluded, see Fair Price Med. Supply Co. v. Travelers Under. Co., 10 NY3d 556 (2008), the insurer certainly had good reason, at the verification stage, to investigate these issues further.
Nevertheless, it is unclear, from defendant’s moving papers, whether defendant also possessed a “specific objective justification” for its extremely broad requests for extensive documentation relating to the Naik entity’s ownership, licencing, income, expenses, employment practices, and business relationships. In addition to wanting to investigate the particular claims at issue, defendant’s investigator believed that Dr. Naik’s medical practice was a fraudulently incorporated entity. See State Farm Mut. Auto Ins. Co. v. Mallela, 4 NY3d 313 (2005). Defendant’s EUO requests accordingly asked for “the following information”:
(i)documents evidencing ownership of the P.C., at the time of the treatment for which you seek payment, by one or more licensed professionals, including but not limited to a copy of the certificate of incorporation for the P.C., receipts for filing, stock certificates, and the stock ledger for the P.C.
(ii)documents relating to the income and expenses of the P.C., including but not limited to tax returns and financial statements for the past two years, and bank statements and general ledgers of the P.C. for the past twelve months.
(iii)a list of the individuals who provided and/or supervised the health care service for which you seek payment, identification of the type of professional license each individual holds and any practice specialty of each, and documents (i.e., W-2, 1099, etc) identifying the relationship between the individual and the P.C. (E.g. whether the individual is an employee or independent contractor and how that individual is compensated),
(iv)a list of the days of the week and hours that any owner of the P.C. provides or supervises services for the P.C. during the period for which payment is sought for services rendered;
(v)all documents, including all schedules, attachments or addenda,
related to the relationship between the P.C., and/or any entity or individual that leases equipment or space to or from the P.C., or provides management, consulting, [*3]administrative or billing services to the P.C. and any payments made to any person or entity that rendered such services to the P.C.
Although an investigation into Mallela issues is sometimes warranted at the verification stage of a claim, the Insurance Superintendent’s regulations allow insurers to delay payments through the pendency of the verification process “solely for good cause.” See Andrew Carothers, MD, PC v. Insurance Companies, 13 Misc 3d 970, 2006 NY Slip Op 26372 (Civ Ct Richmond Co.), quoting Mallela, supra. The verification protocols of 11 NYCRR 65-3.5 should ordinarily be “narrowly construed,” lest they be used to promote improper delays by insurers in making required no-fault payments. Cf. Prime Psych. Serv., P.C. v. ELRAC, 2009 NY Slip Op 52579 (Civ Ct. Richmond Co.). Toward this end, it seems inappropriate to allow insurers to go far beyond the intended scope of the verification rules governing particular claims through far-reaching requests for Mallela documentation.
EUOs, in general, are supposed to afford providers an opportunity “to establish proof of claim” in doubtful cases. See §65-3.5(e). While defenses that might be precluded by Fair Price certainly may be explored, Mallela defenses present a different balance. Since a Mallela defense can be asserted in a no-fault case regardless of whether it formed a basis for the insurer’s denial, see Mulitquest, PLLC v. Allstate Ins, Co., 2007 NY Slip Op 27366 (App Term), the insurer has a less important need, at the verification stage, to engage in a far-reaching exploration of the plaintiff’s corporate structure and business practices. Moreover, it generally may do so only in circumstances where it has a founded belief that the provider is guilty of behavior “tantamount to fraud.” See Andrew Carothers, MD, PC., supra, quoting Mallela, supra.
Consequently, in circumstances such as those presented, it would have been proper for Dr. Naik to have objected, in part, to defendant’s request for such extensive document disclosure in connection with defendant’s verification and EUO requests. Cf. Cambridge Med., P.C. v. Nationwide Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co., 2008 NY Slip Op 50629 (Civ Ct Richmond Co.). But Dr. Naik did not do so. That failure to object shifts the balance back in defendant’s favor.
Most importantly, Dr. Naik’s opposition to the cross-motion makes no effort to explain his default. He does not deny receipt of the EUO notices. He does not question whether defendant had an objectively reasonable basis for seeking an EUO. And he does not raise any issue respecting the burdensome nature of the request for extensive documentation.
Instead, Dr. Naik’s sole contention is that the second EUO request was mailed three days late. The argument is unavailing. It hinges on the assumption that the
second EUO request letter “should have been mailed within 10 calendar days of the first alleged no-show.” However, the ten-day period for sending a follow-up notice runs, not from the date of the scheduled first EUO, but from a date “30 calendar days after the original request.” See section 65-3.6(b). In any event, failure to strictly comply with [*4]the time-table for making additional verification requests is not necessarily fatal. See Infinity Health Products, Ltd. v. Eveready Ins. Co., 67 AD3d 862 (2d Dept. 2009). Since
plaintiff Naik twice flouted his obligation to submit to an EUO and to provide verification of his claim, it would be inequitable, to say the least, to allow him to belatedly interpose a technical defense to his default. See Infinity Health Products, Ltd., supra.
In these circumstances, the Court concludes that defendant is entitled to summary judgment dismissing plaintiff Naik’s complaint on grounds of EUO default.
Finally, the Court rejects defendant’s argument that Dr. Gegerson’s claim must fail due to lack of causation. Defendant did not cross—move for such relief, and while plaintiffs’ summary judgment motion allows the Court to grant relief to defendant through a search of the record, the proof in the record, as a whole, at best presents a triable issue as to causation. If plaintiff Gegerson requires additional disclosure respecting defendant’s denial in order to prepare for trial on that issue, his attorneys should serve further discovery requests promptly. However, the Court sees no basis, at this time, for granting an order of preclusion to this plaintiff or granting him other relief under CPLR 3126.
SO ORDERED:
DISTRICT COURT JUDGE
Dated: April 8, 2010
CC:Mandel & Santora, Esqs.
McDonnell & Adels, P.C.
MAC:ju
Legal questions (3)
Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.
On summary judgment or another pretrial motion, what must a no-fault claimant show to establish its prima facie case?
This decision: Insufficient: claim forms not shown admissible as business records / merits of claim not proved
Held the providers failed their prima facie case because the bill copies submitted, misdated years after suit and differing from the bills received, could not be deemed admissible business records under CPLR 4518.
Of the 1,063 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 208 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did the insurer prove its IME/EUO no-show defense: mailed, compliant scheduling requests and the claimant’s nonappearance?
This decision: Insurer proved mailed, compliant requests and the nonappearance; claimant's answers rejected
Held the insurer entitled to dismissal for the provider's EUO default because its investigator's proof gave an objective justification, receipt was undisputed, and the follow-up request was timely measured from 30 days after the original request.
Of the 851 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 525 (this one included) are in the same category.
Did the insurer show the claimed injuries did not arise from a covered accident (staged, intentional, or unrelated)?
This decision: Founded belief shown; the question must be tried (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)
Rejected the insurer's request, on searching the record, to dismiss one provider's claim for lack of causation, holding the record at best presented a triable issue as to causation.
Of the 233 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 102 (this one included) are in the same category.
Cited in this decision
A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.
- Fair Price Med. Supply Corp. v Travelers Indem. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 04946) FollowedAn insurer's defense that billed supplies were never delivered is subject to preclusion for an untimely denial.
- State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v Mallela (2005 NY Slip Op 02416) FollowedFraudulently incorporated medical providers are ineligible for no-fault reimbursement under 11 NYCRR 65-3.16 (a) (12).
- Matter of Andrew Carothers, M.D., P.C. v Insurance Cos. Represented by Bruno, Gerbino & Soriano LLP (2006 NY Slip Op 26372) FollowedAn insurer need not show conduct tantamount to fraud before obtaining litigation discovery on a provider's alleged fraudulent incorporation.
- Prime Psychological Servs., PC v ELRAC, Inc. (2009 NY Slip Op 52579(U)) Contrasted (cf., but see)An insurer may deny a claim for a pre-claim IME nonappearance even when its denial also cites a post-claim IME nonappearance.
- Multiquest, P.L.L.C. v Allstate Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 27366) FollowedA professional service limited liability company is ineligible for no-fault reimbursement if it violates licensing requirements.
- Cambridge Med., P.C. v Nationwide Prop. & Cas. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 50629(U)) Contrasted (cf., but see)An insurer must show good cause for corporate-eligibility verification, while litigation discovery requires materiality and necessity.
- Infinity Health Prods., Ltd. v Eveready Ins. Co. (2009 NY Slip Op 08585) FollowedA provider that ignored two verification requests was estopped from invoking preclusion based on a follow-up sent three days early.
Cited by
- Dynamic Med. Imaging, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2010 NY Slip Op 20285)An insurer may not obtain summary judgment for EUO nonappearance based on a demand for advance production of corporate and financial records.
Similar decisions
- A.B. Med. Servs. PLLC v GEICO Gen. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 52641(U))The provider's conditions for attending an EUO constituted refusal to supply verification, leaving six claims premature.
- Natural Therapy Acupuncture, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2013 NYSlip Op 51935(U))The provider's EUO objections were unpreserved, and the insurer established timely notices and denials and the provider's nonappearance.
- Montgomery Med., P.C. v State Farm Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51116(U))The insurer's evidence raised a factual issue of fraudulent incorporation despite denials issued 53 days after the provider's EUO. Under 11 NYCRR 65-3.8 (a) (1), verification was received when the EUO occurred; the late denials precluded medical necessity and concurrent-care defenses.
- Kim v State Farm Ins. Co. (2024 NY Slip Op 51364(U))The insurer's EUO letters failed to give a specific objective justification tied to the claim, defeating summary judgment for nonappearance.
- Back to Back Chiropractor, P.C. v State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. (2012 NY Slip Op 51088(U))The provider's failure to object to improper verification demands left the payment period tolled and its claim premature.