• 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
Beynenson Law
Beynenson Law
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
    • Search
    • No-Fault AI
    • New Decisions
    • Legal Questions
    • No-Fault Regulations
    • Arbitrator Scorecard
    • Award Volume
    • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Carrier Data
    • Provider / Attorney Data
    • Arbitration Pro Extension
  • About Us
  • Contact
October 7, 2008

Chester Med. Diagnostic, P.C. v Kemper Cas. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 52009(U))

https://www.beynensonlaw.com/case-law/chester-med-diagnostic-p-c-v-kemper-cas-ins-co-2008-ny-slip-op52009u/

Court
Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County
Judge
Sweeney, J.
Decided
October 7, 2008
Citation
2008 NY Slip Op 52009(U) · 21 Misc 3d 1108(A)
Posture
Summary judgment
Outcome
Split result
Issues
Statute of limitations Provider's prima facie case
Legal questions
Claimant's prima facie case on motions · No-fault statute of limitations (see the maps)
Cite as
Chester Med. Diagnostic, P.C. v Kemper Cas. Ins. Co., 21 Misc 3d 1108(A), 2008 NY Slip Op 52009(U) (Civ Ct, Kings County 2008)

Posture, outcome, issues and treatment by other decisions are Beynenson Law’s classification. Treatment labels are assigned by a language model reading the citing decision; negative and appeal-history labels are checked by a second reader.

Summary

Editorial summary by Beynenson Law, not part of the court’s decision.

The six-year limitations period for contractual no-fault benefits runs when benefits become overdue, rather than from an earlier denial. The Civil Court, Kings County, denied both the insurer's summary judgment motion and the provider's cross motion. Under CPLR 213 (2), Insurance Law § 5106 (a) and 11 NYCRR 65-3.8, accrual occurred after the insurer's 30-day payment period expired. Although the denial could constitute anticipatory repudiation, the provider could await the time for performance, making commencement timely. The provider nevertheless failed to establish a prima facie case because it supplied no admissible foundation for its claim form as a business record. The insurer's admission of receipt did not concede the form's contents or cure that defect.

Reported in New York Official Reports at Chester Med. Diagnostic, P.C. v Kemper Cas. Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 52009(U))

[*1]
Chester Med. Diagnostic, P.C. v Kemper Cas. Ins. Co.
2008 NY Slip Op 52009(U) [21 Misc 3d 1108(A)]
Decided on October 7, 2008
Civil Court Of The City Of New York, Kings County
Sweeney, J.
Published by New York State Law Reporting Bureau pursuant to Judiciary Law § 431.
This opinion is uncorrected and will not be published in the printed Official Reports.
Decided on October 7, 2008

Civil Court of the City of New York, Kings County



Chester Medical Diagnostic, P.C., A/A/O Ceeallah McQueen, Plaintiff,

against

Kemper Casualty Insurance Company, Defendant.

165871/2006

Counsel for Plaintiff:

Gary Tsirelman PC

55 Washington Street, Suite 606

Brooklyn, NY 11201

Tel.: (718) 438-1200

Counsel for Defendant:

Votto & Cassata, LLP

60 Bay Street, 3rd Floor

Staten Island, NY 10301

Tel.: (718) 720-2877

Peter P. Sweeney, J.

In this action pursuant to Insurance Law § 5101 et seq to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits claimed to be due and owing under a policy of insurance issued by the defendant, defendant moves for summary judgment dismissing the action on the ground that plaintiff did not commence the action within the six-year statute of limitations contained in CPLR § 213[2]. Plaintiff cross-moves for summary judgment.

In support of its motion for summary judgment, defendant submitted admissible proof establishing that it received the underlying claim for first-party no-fault benefits on November 15, 2000, that it had issued a denial of the claim on November 29, 2000 on the ground that plaintiff’s assignor failed to attend an examination under oath (“EUO”) and that it had mailed a [*2]copy of the denial of claim to the plaintiff on the same day it was issued. Plaintiff commenced the action on December 1, 2006. Defendant argues that pursuant to CPLR § 213 [2], plaintiff was required to commence the action within six years from November 29, 2000 and that the commencement of the action on December 1, 2006 was untimely.

It is now fairly well settled that an action to recover assigned first-party no-fault benefits under a policy of insurance is fundamentally a breach of contract action subject to the six-year statute of limitations contained in CPLR §213[2] (see Mandarino v. Travelers Property Cas. Ins. Co., 37 AD3d 775, 831 NYS2d 452 [2nd Dep’t 2007]; Benson v. Boston Old Colony Ins. Co., 134 AD2d 214, 215, 521 NYS2d 14 [1st Dep’t1987], lv. denied 71 NY2d 801, 527 NYS2d 767, 522 NE2d 1065 [1988]; Travelers Indem. Co. of Connecticut v. Glenwood Medical, P.C., 48 AD3d 319, 319-320, 853 NYS2d 26, 26 [1st Dep’t 2008] ). The statute of limitations in a breach of contract action begins to run at the time the contract is breached, which in this case was when benefits become overdue (see Benson, 134 AD2d at 215; New Era Acupuncture, P.C. v. MVAIC, 18 Misc 3d 139(A), 2008 NY Slip Op. 50353(U) [App Term 2nd & 11 Jud Dists]. Benefits became overdue when the defendant failed to pay the claim within 30 days of November 15, 2000, when it received proof of the claim (see Insurance Law § 5106[a]; NYCRR § 65-3.8; Benson, 134 AD2d at 215; Micha v. Merchants Mutual Insurance Company, 94 AD2d 835, 463 NYS2d 110 [3rd Dep’t 1983] ). The commencement of the action on December 1, 2000 was therefore timely.

The fact that the defendant may have repudiated the contract on November 29, 2000 when it issued a denial of the claim and mailed a copy of the denial to the defendant does alter this result. Under the doctrine of anticipatory breach, where one party clearly and unequivocally repudiates his contractual obligations under a contract prior to the time performance is required, the non-repudiating party may deem the contract breached and immediately sue for damages (see American List Corp. v. U.S. News & World Report, 75 NY2d 38, 550 NYS2d 590, 549 NE2d 1161 [1989]; De Lorenzo v. Bac Agency Inc., 256 AD2d 906, 908, 681 NYS2d 846, 848 [3rd Dep’t 1998]; Long Is. R.R. Co. v. Northville Indus. Corp., 41 NY2d 455, 463, 393 NYS2d 925, 362 NE2d 558 [1977]).

While the plaintiff may have been entitled to bring the action under the doctrine of anticipatory breach when the defendant denied the claim, even though the 30 day period in which defendant had to pay the claim had yet to expire, plaintiff was well within its rights to elect to keep the contract in force and await the designated time for performance before bringing suit (Ga Nun v. Palmer, 202 NY 483, 493, 96 N.E. 99 [1911]; see also, Rachmani Corp. v. 9 East 96th Street Apartment Corp., 211 AD2d 262, 266, 629 NYS2d 382, 384 [1st Dep’t 1995] ). As the Court of Appeals wrote in Ga Nun: “The man who wrongfully renounces a contract into which he has deliberately entered cannot justly complain if he is immediately sued for a compensation in damages by the man whom he has injured; and it seems reasonable to allow an option to the injured party, either to sue immediately, or to wait until the time when the act was to be done, still holding it as prospectively binding for the exercise of this option, which may be advantageous to the innocent party, and cannot be prejudicial to the wrongdoer” (Ga Nun, 202 [*3]NY at 490-491, 96 N.E. at 101 – 102, citing Hochster v. De la Tour, 2 Ellis & Blackburn, 678). For the above reasons, defendant’s motion for summary judgment is DENIED.

Turning to plaintiff’s cross-motion for summary judgment, in Dan Medical, P.C. v. New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co.,14 Misc 3d 44 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2006] ) the Appellate Term held that absent a sufficient foundation to demonstrate that the plaintiff’s claim forms constituted evidence in admissible form as business records, the “plaintiff failed to tender proof in evidentiary form to establish its prima facie case” (id. at 47). The Dan Medical Court further held that any admissions by the defendant regarding receipt of the plaintiff’s claim forms “did not concede the facts asserted in the claim forms and it remained plaintiff’s burden to proffer such evidence in admissible form, which it failed to do” (id.; see also Bajaj v. General Assur., 18 Misc 3d 25 [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2007]; Midborough Acupuncture, P.C. v. New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co., 13 Misc 3d 132[A], 2006 NY Slip Op 51879[U] [App Term, 2d & 11th Jud Dists 2006] ).

Here, plaintiff’s submissions are devoid of any admissible proof, such as an affidavit from someone familiar with plaintiff’s business practices, establishing the admissibility of the claim form as a business record. Accordingly, plaintiff did not establish its prima facie case of entitlement to summary judgment notwithstanding defendant’s admission that it received the claim on November 15, 2000. Plaintiff’s failure to make out a prima facie case of entitlement to summary judgment mandates the denial of the motion regardless of the sufficiency of opposing papers (Winegrad v. New York University Medical Center, 64 NY2d 851, 487 NYS2d 316 [1985] ).

For the above reasons, it is hereby

ORDERED that defendant’s motion for summary judgment and plaintiff’s cross-motion for summary judgment are DENIED.

This constitutes the decision and order of the court.

Date: October 7, 2008________________________________

Peter P. Sweeney

Civil Court Judge

Legal questions (2)

Questions of no-fault law this decision rules on, from our Legal Questions pages. Bars count the decisions on the question by year and court, coloured by category; circles are this decision and the decisions on the question it cites or that cite it. Point at a bar or circle for details. The categories and summaries are Beynenson Law’s classification, made by a language model and checked by a second reading.

Claimant's prima facie case on motions

Open the full map

On summary judgment or another pretrial motion, what must a no-fault claimant show to establish its prima facie case?

This decision: Insufficient: claim forms not shown admissible as business records / merits of claim not proved

Denied the provider's cross motion because it offered no affidavit from someone familiar with its business practices to make the claim form admissible as a business record, and the insurer's admission of receipt did not cure that.

  • Court of AppealsCt App 2
  • Appellate DivisionApp Div 54
  • Appellate TermApp Term 819
  • Trial courtsTrial 115
2015, Court of Appeals: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)2007, Court of Appeals: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)2022, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)2019, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)2014, Appellate Division: 10 decisions (9 Proof sufficient, 1 Overdue not shown)2013, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (2 Proof sufficient)2012, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)2011, Appellate Division: 7 decisions (7 Proof sufficient)2010, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (1 Proof sufficient, 1 Overdue not shown)2009, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (2 Proof sufficient, 1 Other element missing)2008, Appellate Division: 6 decisions (4 Proof sufficient, 1 Overdue not shown, 1 Business-record foundation lacking)2007, Appellate Division: 8 decisions (5 Proof sufficient, 2 Mailing/receipt not shown, 1 Overdue not shown)2006, Appellate Division: 4 decisions (2 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown, 1 Other element missing)2005, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (3 Proof sufficient)2004, Appellate Division: 3 decisions (2 Proof sufficient, 1 Overdue not shown)2026, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)2003, Appellate Division: 2 decisions (1 Proof sufficient, 1 Overdue not shown)2022, Appellate Term: 14 decisions (2 Mailing/receipt not shown, 12 Overdue not shown)2021, Appellate Term: 5 decisions (1 Proof sufficient, 4 Overdue not shown)2020, Appellate Term: 13 decisions (13 Overdue not shown)2019, Appellate Term: 22 decisions (22 Overdue not shown)2018, Appellate Term: 26 decisions (3 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown, 22 Overdue not shown)2017, Appellate Term: 38 decisions (3 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown, 34 Overdue not shown)2016, Appellate Term: 42 decisions (8 Proof sufficient, 34 Overdue not shown)2015, Appellate Term: 43 decisions (11 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown, 30 Overdue not shown, 1 Business-record foundation lacking)2014, Appellate Term: 21 decisions (10 Proof sufficient, 11 Overdue not shown)2013, Appellate Term: 34 decisions (17 Proof sufficient, 11 Overdue not shown, 6 Business-record foundation lacking)2012, Appellate Term: 32 decisions (3 Proof sufficient, 2 Mailing/receipt not shown, 11 Overdue not shown, 16 Business-record foundation lacking)2011, Appellate Term: 29 decisions (6 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown, 13 Overdue not shown, 9 Business-record foundation lacking)2010, Appellate Term: 34 decisions (22 Proof sufficient, 3 Mailing/receipt not shown, 9 Business-record foundation lacking)2009, Appellate Term: 51 decisions (27 Proof sufficient, 3 Mailing/receipt not shown, 21 Business-record foundation lacking)2008, Appellate Term: 49 decisions (16 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown, 32 Business-record foundation lacking)2007, Appellate Term: 103 decisions (8 Proof sufficient, 2 Mailing/receipt not shown, 93 Business-record foundation lacking)2006, Appellate Term: 106 decisions (73 Proof sufficient, 25 Mailing/receipt not shown, 1 Overdue not shown, 6 Business-record foundation lacking, 1 Other element missing)2005, Appellate Term: 90 decisions (84 Proof sufficient, 5 Mailing/receipt not shown, 1 Overdue not shown)2004, Appellate Term: 46 decisions (32 Proof sufficient, 10 Mailing/receipt not shown, 4 Other element missing)2003, Appellate Term: 7 decisions (7 Proof sufficient)2023, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (3 Overdue not shown)2024, Appellate Term: 7 decisions (1 Mailing/receipt not shown, 6 Overdue not shown)2025, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (1 Mailing/receipt not shown, 1 Overdue not shown)2026, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (2 Mailing/receipt not shown)2023, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Proof sufficient)2022, Trial courts: 4 decisions (2 Proof sufficient, 2 Overdue not shown)2021, Trial courts: 11 decisions (6 Proof sufficient, 2 Mailing/receipt not shown, 2 Overdue not shown, 1 Other element missing)2020, Trial courts: 3 decisions (1 Proof sufficient, 1 Overdue not shown, 1 Other element missing)2019, Trial courts: 6 decisions (5 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown)2018, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Overdue not shown)2017, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Overdue not shown, 1 Other element missing)2016, Trial courts: 4 decisions (4 Proof sufficient)2012, Trial courts: 5 decisions (4 Proof sufficient, 1 Business-record foundation lacking)2011, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Proof sufficient, 1 Business-record foundation lacking)2010, Trial courts: 3 decisions (2 Proof sufficient, 1 Business-record foundation lacking)2009, Trial courts: 6 decisions (6 Proof sufficient)2008, Trial courts: 10 decisions (4 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown, 1 Overdue not shown, 4 Business-record foundation lacking)2007, Trial courts: 6 decisions (4 Proof sufficient, 2 Business-record foundation lacking)2006, Trial courts: 13 decisions (10 Proof sufficient, 2 Overdue not shown, 1 Other element missing)2005, Trial courts: 18 decisions (10 Proof sufficient, 5 Mailing/receipt not shown, 3 Business-record foundation lacking)2004, Trial courts: 11 decisions (5 Proof sufficient, 2 Mailing/receipt not shown, 4 Other element missing)2026, Trial courts: 3 decisions (2 Proof sufficient, 1 Mailing/receipt not shown)2014, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)2015, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)2024, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Proof sufficient)2025, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Mailing/receipt not shown)This decision
20052010201520202025
Proof sufficientMailing/receipt not shownOverdue not shownBusiness-record foundation lackingOther element missingThis decisionCites it or cited by itCited or followed

Of the 990 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 206 (this one included) are in the same category.

No-fault statute of limitations

Open the full map

Which limitations period governs a first-party no-fault claim against an insurer, self-insurer or MVAIC: six or three years?

This decision: Claim against an insurer under a policy carries the six-year contract period (CPLR 213 [2]) (rules on the question, but another ground decided the case)

Applied the six-year contract period of CPLR 213 (2) to the claim against the policy-issuing insurer and held the action timely because accrual ran from when benefits became overdue, not from the earlier denial.

  • Court of AppealsCt App 1
  • Appellate DivisionApp Div 2
  • Appellate TermApp Term 44
  • Trial courtsTrial 9
2018, Court of Appeals: 1 decision (1 Three years: self-insurer)2007, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Six years: insurer)2016, Appellate Division: 1 decision (1 Six years: self-insurer)2022, Appellate Term: 6 decisions (3 Six years: insurer, 3 Three years: MVAIC)2021, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (2 Three years: self-insurer, 1 Three years: MVAIC)2019, Appellate Term: 10 decisions (3 Six years: insurer, 1 Three years: self-insurer, 6 Three years: MVAIC)2015, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (1 Six years: insurer, 1 Three years: MVAIC)2014, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Six years: insurer)2013, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (2 Six years: insurer, 1 Six years: self-insurer)2011, Appellate Term: 4 decisions (4 Six years: insurer)2024, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (1 Six years: insurer, 1 Three years: MVAIC)2008, Appellate Term: 4 decisions (4 Three years: MVAIC)2009, Appellate Term: 2 decisions (2 Six years: self-insurer)2010, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Three years: MVAIC)2016, Appellate Term: 3 decisions (3 Three years: MVAIC)2017, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Three years: MVAIC)2020, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Six years: insurer)2023, Appellate Term: 1 decision (1 Three years: self-insurer)2021, Trial courts: 2 decisions (2 Six years: insurer)2010, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Six years: insurer)2008, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Six years: insurer, 1 Six years: self-insurer)2006, Trial courts: 2 decisions (1 Three years: self-insurer, 1 Three years: MVAIC)2005, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Three years: MVAIC)2007, Trial courts: 1 decision (1 Three years: MVAIC)This decision
2005201020152020
Six years: insurerSix years: self-insurerThree years: self-insurerThree years: MVAICThis decisionCites it or cited by itCited or followed

Of the 56 decisions on this question in the Second Department courts and the Court of Appeals, 21 (this one included) are in the same category. One decision in other departments that cites or is cited by this one is on the full map.

Cited in this decision

A label shows how this decision treated the case it cites.

  • Mandarino v Travelers Prop. Cas. Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 01693)A provider's action to recover no-fault benefits under an insurance policy is governed by the six-year contractual limitations period.
  • Matter of Travelers Indem. Co. of Conn. v Glenwood Med., P.C. (2008 NY Slip Op 01598)An insurer's reconsideration of a denied no-fault claim does not extend the claim's accrual date for statute-of-limitations purposes.
  • Dan Med., P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 26483) FollowedThe provider failed to establish its prima facie case because its corporate officer did not lay a business-records foundation for the claim documents.
  • Bajaj v General Assur. (2007 NY Slip Op 27487)An insurer's admission that a denial form is genuine does not establish the provider's claim form as an admissible business record.
  • Midborough Acupuncture, P.C. v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51879(U))The provider's attorney affirmation failed to establish the admissibility of its claim forms or a prima facie entitlement to judgment.

Cited by

  • Contact Chiropractic, P.C. v New York City Tr. Auth. (2018 NY Slip Op 03093)No-fault claims against a self-insurer are subject to the three-year statute of limitations under CPLR 214 (2).

Similar decisions

  • Friendly Physician, P.C. v Progressive Ins. Co. (2007 NY Slip Op 52269(U))The provider failed to establish that its claim forms were admissible business records under CPLR 4518 (a).
  • Boai Zhong Yi Acupuncture Servs. PC v General Assur. Ins Co. (2005 NY Slip Op 50329(U))The provider obtained summary judgment because two denials were late and the third relied on an unavailable IME nonappearance defense.
  • Montgomery Med., P.C. v State Farm Ins. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 51003(U))The insurer's evidence raised a triable issue of fraudulent incorporation but did not establish its entitlement to summary judgment.
  • Carle Place Chiropractic v New York Cent. Mut. Fire Ins. Co. (2008 NY Slip Op 51065(U))The insurer failed to prove timely denial mailing and was precluded from asserting lack of medical necessity.
  • Chiropractic Neurodiagnosis, PC v Travelers Indem. Co. (2006 NY Slip Op 50257(U))Disputed proof of timely mailing of a medical-necessity denial defeated both sides' summary judgment motions.
Beynenson Law

Tech-driven New York no-fault collections for healthcare providers.

About the firm

Contact

  • East Hampton, New York

  • 347-746-6001
  • contact@beynensonlaw.com
  • Contact form

Case Law

  • Search
  • No-Fault AI
  • New Decisions
  • Legal Questions
  • No-Fault Regulations

Arbitration Data

  • Arbitrator Scorecard
  • Award Volume
  • Arbitrator / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Carrier Data
  • Provider / Attorney Data
  • Arbitration Pro Extension

©2026 The Beynenson Law Firm, PC. Terms of Use Privacy Policy

Site by khrystev.dev

Attorney Advertising. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome. This website provides general information, not legal advice, and using it does not create an attorney-client relationship. Do not send confidential information through this site.