Appellate Division, Second Department
Sep 23, 2026
2026 NY Slip Op 05400
Insurer prevailed
The provider's petition to vacate a master arbitration award was denied because it showed no statutory ground for vacatur. The Appellate Division, Second Department, affirmed the denial of the CPLR article 75 petition challenging an award rejecting reimbursement for prescription medications. The court relied on CPLR 7511's narrow grounds for vacatur and the insufficiency of mere legal errors; remaining contentions were unpreserved or unnecessary to reach.
Appellate Division, Second Department
Sep 23, 2026
2026 NY Slip Op 05393
Insurer prevailed
The claimant failed to offer a reasonable excuse for defaulting in opposition to the insurer's petition to stay UM arbitration. After the claimant missed a court-ordered deadline for written opposition, Supreme Court permanently stayed arbitration of the alleged hit-and-run claim. Relief under CPLR 5015 (a) (1) required both a reasonable excuse and a potentially meritorious defense. Conclusory assertions that missing medical records and a purported police report hampered opposition were insufficient because the claimant did not explain efforts to obtain them. The Appellate Division, Second Department, affirmed the order, insofar as appealed from, denying vacatur and found it unnecessary to consider a potentially meritorious defense.
Appellate Term, First Department
Sep 22, 2026
2026 NY Slip Op 51528(U)
Insurer prevailed
The provider's failure to attend the initial and follow-up EUOs violated a condition precedent to coverage. The Appellate Term, First Department, reversed the order and granted the insurer's unopposed motion for summary judgment dismissing the no-fault complaint. The insurer established that it timely and properly mailed the EUO scheduling notices and that the provider failed to appear. The provider's challenge to the reasonableness of the EUO requests was raised for the first time on appeal and was therefore unpreserved for review.
Appellate Term, First Department
Sep 22, 2026
2026 NY Slip Op 51527(U)
Insurer prevailed
The insurer established timely mailing of the provider's EUO notices, nonappearance and an objective basis for the EUOs. The Appellate Term, First Department, reversed the order, insofar as appealed from, and granted the insurer's motion for summary judgment dismissing the no-fault complaint. The insurer's attorney described the office's standard mailing practices and procedures and represented under penalty of perjury, with personal knowledge, that those procedures were followed. This adequately proved mailing of the scheduling letters, and the provider failed to appear at the initial and follow-up EUOs. The provider raised no factual issue, and the insurer supplied a specific objective justification under 11 NYCRR 65-3.5 (e).
Appellate Term, Second Department
Sep 18, 2026
2026 NY Slip Op 51594(U)
Provider prevailed
The insurer failed to show nonreceipt of settlement documents needed to support vacatur of the provider's judgment entered after a settlement default. The provider obtained judgment under CPLR 5003-a (e) after a default under a settlement. The Civil Court, Queens County, vacated the judgment because the provider had not proved tender of a duly executed release and stipulation of discontinuance under CPLR 5003-a (a). The insurer, however, bore the initial burden on its motion of demonstrating nonreceipt and failed to meet it. The provider therefore did not need to establish tender in opposition. The Appellate Term, Second Department, reversed the order, insofar as appealed from, and denied the branch of the insurer's motion seeking vacatur.
Appellate Term, Second Department
Sep 18, 2026
2026 NY Slip Op 51589(U)
Provider prevailed
The insurer failed to establish a reasonable excuse for default based on nonreceipt of process served on its registered agent. The process server's affidavit established proper service under CPLR 311 (a) (1). The insurer's litigation representative reported finding no summons and complaint in its files or databases, but no affidavit from a person with personal knowledge contradicted service, disputed the agent's authority or explained why such an affidavit could not be provided. The Appellate Term, Second Department, reversed and denied vacatur under CPLR 5015 (a) (1), without reaching whether a potentially meritorious defense existed. Relief under CPLR 317 was also unavailable because the insurer's agent had been personally served, as contemplated by CPLR 317 and 318.
Appellate Term, Second Department
Sep 18, 2026
2026 NY Slip Op 51588(U)
Insurer prevailed
The insurer's affidavits established timely and proper mailing of the EUO scheduling letters and denial of claim form. The provider's sole appellate contention challenged the sufficiency of affidavits from the insurer's claims supervisor and mail facility general manager. Those affidavits supplied prima facie proof of mailing, and the provider failed to raise a triable issue of fact in opposition. The Appellate Term, Second Department, affirmed the order granting the insurer summary judgment dismissing the complaint based on the provider's failure to appear for duly scheduled EUOs.
Trial court, Second Department
Sep 24, 2026
2026 NY Slip Op 26164
Insurer prevailed
The provider failed to raise a factual issue concerning compliance with verification requests within 120 days. The Civil Court, Kings County, granted the insurer's summary judgment motion, dismissed the complaint with prejudice, and denied the provider's cross motion as moot. Under 11 NYCRR 65-3.5 (o), the insurer established nonreceipt of requested documents, while the provider supplied neither proof of compliance nor reasonable justification. Its owner's affidavit gave inconsistent mailing addresses and lacked corroborating documents. Government Employees Ins. Co. v Mayzenberg did not bar requests investigating licensing eligibility under 11 NYCRR 65-3.16 (a) (12): the denial rested on noncompliance with verification, without a conclusive finding of professional misconduct. The court declined to consider an amended cross motion served 18 months after the insurer's opposition and reply.
Trial court, Second Department
Sep 23, 2026
2026 NY Slip Op 51811(U)
Insurer prevailed
Service under Vehicle and Traffic Law § 253 does not establish personal jurisdiction over a no-fault insurer. The provider's affidavit invoking that statute was facially insufficient and carried no presumption of proper service. The provider then attempted service more than 120 days after commencement without obtaining leave under CPLR 306-b. The Civil Court, Kings County, granted the insurer's motion to dismiss for lack of personal jurisdiction, denied the provider's cross motion, including its request for a service extension, as moot and dismissed without prejudice. The court also stated that counsel's repeated misrepresentation of the statute would warrant denial of discretionary equitable relief, including an extension for good cause or in the interest of justice.
Trial court, Second Department
Sep 16, 2026
2026 NY Slip Op 51600(U)
Insurer prevailed
The provider's claim was barred by a declaratory judgment because corroborating identifiers established the same claim and assignor. The prior judgment denied payment for listed bills based on the provider's failure to appear for EUOs. The provider disputed whether the listed initials identified its assignor and challenged the listed bill amount. The Civil Court, Kings County, found the initials a permissible abbreviation of the assignor's Spanish name and relied on the consistent claim number, EUO scheduling dates, denial dates and bill amount. The listed amount matched the sum of the provider's charges for each procedure. Applying res judicata and collateral estoppel, the court granted the insurer summary judgment, denied the provider's cross motion as moot and dismissed the action with prejudice.
Trial court, Second Department
Sep 3, 2026
2026 NY Slip Op 51460(U)
Provider prevailed
The insurer failed to establish its intoxication exclusion or fee-schedule defense through competent, admissible evidence. The Civil Court, Kings County, denied its summary judgment motion in full. Under Westchester Med. Ctr. v Government Empls. Ins. Co., the insurer had to prove intoxication or impairment and that the injuries resulted from operating a vehicle in that condition. Unauthenticated medical records and a police report lacked an admissible foundation under CPLR 4518 or another evidentiary rule, and the assignor's EUO testimony disputed intoxication. The insurer also supplied no competent proof that the charges exceeded the applicable fee schedule. The court made no finding of intoxication or causation and left both defenses for proof at trial.